top of page

Jay Gogin, Master of Ceramics

When I was going to college, I took a heavy load of art classes of all types. Through the extensive ceramics department at FKCC, I met Jay Gogin. He was a master craftsman who was known for fantastic Raku and stoneware pieces that ranged in size from as small as your hand to as tall as a grown man. Jay created some of his own glazes, one of which is a brilliant Carribean turquoise crackle that I loved to splash on nearly everything I made.

Every time I went back home to KW, I would trek out to the college grounds to see if I could catch up with him, or at least see his latest creations. My 20th year HS reunion was this year and I made sure to add an extra day to allow for all the side trips I wanted to take, but now....

Jay passed away last week from kidney and liver failure, and I will not get a chance to speak with him again. I feel the loss keenly for all of the new students who will never know the sound of his laugh or the gentle smile as something wonderful grows under your hands.

He will be greatly missed.




83 views
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page